Don't Plead Guilty To DUI

If you have been charged with DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs) or the lesser but still serious charge of DWI (driving while impaired), there is no reason to plead guilty right away. Even if you blew over the legal limit and think the evidence against you is strong, you may be surprised to find that you have options. With the help of a skilled lawyer, you may be able to overcome these charges.

At Nichols Law Firm in Norman, our attorneys are knowledgeable in all aspects of current Oklahoma DUI law, blood alcohol content (BAC) rules and viable strategies for helping people who have made mistakes avoid the harshest life-changing consequences. We will work hard to help you retain your driving privileges, minimize or eliminate fines and stay out of jail.

At the outset of your case, we will educate you about the potential repercussions, some of which you may not be aware of, including alcohol counseling, installation of an ignition interlock device and increased insurance rates if you are convicted of drunk driving.

Drunk Driving Defense Strategies

Our team members include former prosecutors who know what it takes to prevent an unjust DUI conviction or negotiate the best possible outcome when the prosecution's case is strong. The sooner you get a qualified attorney involved, the greater the opportunity may be to:

  • Identify any problems with the arrest that could lead to a case dismissal or acquittal and keep your record clean, such as false, unreliable readings from improperly administered breath or blood alcohol tests or field sobriety tests that did not follow protocol

  • Challenge an arrest if you were not in actual physical control of the vehicle
  • Help you proactively pursue alcohol counseling or treatment or take other actions that strengthen your position to negotiate reduced DUI consequences and retain your driving privileges

Furthermore, you have only 15 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative hearing or a modified, limited driver's license through the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. We can assist you in that process.

Our lawyers defend against all misdemeanor and felony drunk driving charges. We handle all cases involving special circumstances, including:

Want more info about DUI charges? Review our frequently asked questions about DUI.

The Clock Starts Ticking Right Away In DUI Cases

Even the most basic first-offense Oklahoma DUI conviction can bring a sentence of up to one year in jail, a $1,000 fine plus hundreds in additional fees, driver's license suspension and more. Leveraging years of intense effort on both sides of these cases, we are well-equipped to make a meaningful difference in the outcome of your case. Call 405-217-4118 or send us an email so we can take immediate action to defend you.