Norman Lawyers Handling Misdemeanor DUI

People make mistakes. You probably never intended to drive drunk, but now you face DUI charges that could cost you up to $1,000 in fines and even more in fees, put you in jail for up to a year (or six months in municipal court) and give you a permanent criminal record.

These charges are undoubtedly frightening. But a charge is not a conviction. In fact, many people charged with a first-time misdemeanor DUI will never spend a day in jail, especially if they have a strong defense attorney on their side such as the DUI defense lawyers at Nichols Law Firm in Norman and Wewoka, Oklahoma. Two of our attorneys are former prosecutors who use the knowledge they gained on the other side of the aisle to effectively negotiate better results for their clients.

When Is A DUI A Misdemeanor? A Felony?

Most people who face DUI for the first time in Oklahoma are charged with a misdemeanor crime. If, however, a defendant was convicted of one or more DUIs in the past 10 years, he or she can be charged with felony drunk driving.

Court Differences: DUI Penalties

The court fees, fines and other penalties you face will vary depending on the court where you were charged. Charges in Oklahoma district courts, for example, are different from charges in the various municipal courts. We can help you understand the charges and penalties you face.

Defending Your License After Misdemeanor Drunk Driving

In addition to criminal penalties for DUI, you will face potential license suspension by the Department of Public Safety (DPS). In most cases, the license suspension period for a misdemeanor DUI is 180 days (six months). If, however, you are charged with aggravated DUI, you blew .15 or over or you refused a Breathalyzer test, you will need to install an ignition interlock device on your car for another 18 months. Failure to install the device means you will not be able to drive, essentially adding to the amount of time your license is suspended.

You must schedule a hearing within 15 days of your arrest or you will lose your chance to defend your driving privileges.

Our attorneys can provide skilled defense for both your DPS hearing and your criminal DUI case.

Call An Experienced Drunk Driving Defense Attorney In Oklahoma

To arrange a consultation about your drunk driving arrest with a knowledgeable defense lawyer, call 405-217-4118 or send us an email. We defend people facing misdemeanor DUI charges throughout Oklahoma.