The Laws in Oklahoma: DUI Questions and Answers

Guidance From DUI Defense Attorneys at the Nichols Law Firm

If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI), there is absolutely no substitute for qualified, experienced legal counsel specific to your case. However, the team at this Norman and Wewoka, Oklahoma, law firm is dedicated to education as well as providing quality defense against all criminal charges, and brief answers to basic questions may help you make the right decision for your future.

For people throughout Oklahoma, frequently asked DUI questions (FAQ) may include the following and many more.

Can I go to jail for DUI?

Yes. Even for a first DUI offense with no aggravating factors, the law provides for jail time from 10 days to a maximum of one year — although resourceful attorneys at this firm have helped many people negotiate alternatives. Even longer jail time is possible for a second offense or other felony DUI conviction, and no one should face a DUI charge without an attorney.

Will I lose my driver's license — and what options are available for getting permission to drive to work or for other essential activities?

All Oklahoma DUI convictions and test refusals result in driver's license suspension or revocation. It is possible to obtain a modified driver's permit, but you have only 15 days from the date of your DUI arrest to request this or a DPS administrative hearing. An attorney at this firm can advise and represent you in these proceedings.

What if I refused to take a breath, blood or other alcohol test when I was pulled over?

Under Oklahoma's "implied consent" laws, the consequences of test refusal include immediate seizure of your driver's license and a 180-day to three-year driver's license suspension. The prosecutor will be allowed to present the fact that you refused to submit to testing along with other evidence when attempting to win a DUI conviction in your case.

Why should I hire a DUI lawyer if the state already has test results showing I was over the limit?

A dedicated DUI defense attorney — especially one with extensive experience on the prosecution side as well — can review the police report with a critical eye, talk through what happened with you, and look into many aspects of your case in the effort to make a meaningful difference in the outcome.

Without a lawyer, conviction is virtually 100 percent certain. With a proven defender on your side, you may be able to avoid the most severe consequences and negotiate alternatives that keep your life and plans intact.

For a consultation on your case, call or e-mail the Nichols Law Firm now.