Take the first step toward resolving your legal challenge.
405-217-4118
Nichols Law Firm
Taking The Practice Of Law To The Next Level

October 2014 Archives

Fighting felony drunk driving charges in Oklahoma

If you are taken into custody for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Oklahoma within 10 years of being convicted of DWI, you will likely face a felony charge. If you are in this situation, you should be aware of the possible consequences of a conviction. The penalties for a felony are generally far more severe than they are for a misdemeanor offense, and a felony conviction appearing on a background check could make securing employment or a place to live very difficult.

Penalties for impaired driving

Oklahoma has passed specific legislation that addresses a person's ability to operate a motor vehicle if they are under the influence of alcohol or another substance that impairs their ability to drive. Penalties for a conviction for impaired driving could range from $100 to $500 and could include a maximum of six months in custody.

Tests used to establish BAC levels in Oklahoma

Oklahoma is an implied consent state, and motorists are required by law to consent to sobriety tests when instructed to do so by a law enforcement officer. However, there are limits to when an officer may require drivers to submit to chemical sobriety tests, such as a breath test.

The National | Top 40 Under 40 | Trial Lawyers
Take The First STep

Take The First Step Toward
Resolving Your Legal Challenge To discuss your case with us, call 405-217-4118 or contact us by email.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy