Take the first step toward resolving your legal challenge.
Nichols Law Firm
Taking The Practice Of Law To The Next Level

December 2014 Archives

Driver traveling with 2 children charged with DUI in Oklahoma

A man is in custody at the Oklahoma County jail on DUI and related charges following an early morning traffic stop on Dec. 22. According to news sources, the 31-year-old driver was traveling with two young children in a pickup truck in the vicinity of Laird and S.E. 22nd in Oklahoma City when police pulled him over. At press time, he is being held on $24,000 bond, and the minor children have been released to a family member.

The lower drinking limit for underage drivers

Anyone caught driving with a blood-alcohol concentration above the legal limit may be detained by the police on suspicion of drunk driving, but the legal limit is different for those younger and older than 21. People who are 21 and older cannot register a BAC of .08 percent or greater, but it is illegal for people under 21 to have any alcohol in their system. Oklahoma and all other states enforce zero-tolerance laws that penalize underage motorists who drive under the influence of alcohol.

Dad with young daughter, son in car charged with DUI

A man in Oklahoma is facing multiple charges, including drunk driving and child endangerment, following a traffic stop that occurred over the first weekend of December 2014. According to the Oklahoma City Police Department, a 13-year-old boy and a 7-year-old girl were passengers in a vehicle operated by their 43-year-old father when the man was pulled over for undisclosed reasons. During the incident, police found open alcoholic beverage containers inside the vehicle.

Keeping your driving privileges after a DUI charge

If you have been charged with drunk driving in Oklahoma, you could lose your driving privileges for a considerable period even if the DUI charge against you is ultimately dismissed. You can seek to prevent this from happening by requesting a hearing before the Department of Public Services, but you are given only 15 days to request such a hearing.

What are the common types of field sobriety tests?

In Oklahoma, as in many states, there are three tests commonly used to conduct field sobriety screenings. They are the one-leg stand, the walk-and-turn and the horizontal gaze nystagmus. All three are used to determine whether an individual is driving while impaired. The failure to pass these tests may result in DUI charges.

The National | Top 40 Under 40 | Trial Lawyers
Take The First Step

Take The First Step Toward
Resolving Your Legal Challenge To discuss your case with us, call 405-217-4118 or contact us by email.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy